On Thursday, South Dakota Governor Dennis Daugaard signed into law legislation that will ban abortions past 19 weeks of pregnancy.
The bill is based on scientific evidence that preborn babies can feel pain by roughly 20 weeks. Starting July 1, abortionists who violate the law will face up to a year in prison and a fine of $2,000. The only exception is for a medical emergencies.
“I think it’ll save lives because it lets women know that their children really are humans just like us,” bill sponsor Rep. Isaac Latterell declared. “I think it’s a great step forward for our state, and I would like to see us do more to protect the innocent.”
As to potential legal challenges, gubernatorial spokeswoman Kelsey Pritchard said Daugaard “is sure that” South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley “will be prepared to defend the constitutionality of the bill.”
As Live Action News reported on Wednesday, another 19-week abortion ban currently awaits the signature of South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley, likely bringing the total number of states which protect the preborn at five months up to fourteen.